Firefox for Desktop.

This was first week- According to the schedule.But I had started working on project from 10 days before the formal-start, just after my semester-end exam. In this blog I am going to writes about my project that is- Firefox for desktop! I will be working on all three platform- Linux, Window and mac OSX.

Firefox for desktop is used by hundreds of millions of people every day. Infact I am using firefox from the day I bought by laptop. Firefox is a web browser available for both desktop and mobile versions. Firefox use Gecko layout engine to render web pages, which implement current web standards. Developers control what it looks like using CSS, XUL (a markup language that’s a bit like HTML), and JavaScript. There’s also a small amount of C++ here and there.

Little history about Firefox

The Firefox project began as an experimental branch of the Mozilla project by Dave Hyatt, Joe Hewitt and Blake Ross.Mozilla Firefox (or simply Firefox) is a free and open-source web browser developed by the Mozilla Foundation. Firefox is available for Windows, OS X and Linux operating systems, with its mobile versions available for Android.Firefox version 1.0 was released on November 9, 2004. According to Mozilla, as of December 2014 there were half a billion Firefox users around the world With Internet Explorer declining, Firefox reached second place in February 2016, as a desktop browser.

Goal Of Project

The project is devided into two categories-

1. Development of new styles- for all three platform.

2. Fixing existing issues- There is a number of styling problems where Firefox does not currently look its best- Again for all three platform.

As I use ubuntu in my system, So I decided to go with linux first. During my intial contribution (During application period) I Fixed almost issues of firefox for platform -Linux. I was unaware of this- my mentor told me recently!. Currently I am working on development of Bookmark styling in toolbar- I am going to write about this in my next blog.

Leave a Reply

