Outreachy Proposal for Mozilla.

Now a days I am getting lot of emails from new contributor about sharing my proposal. So, In this blog post I am sharing my Outreachy proposal for Mozilla firefox browser.

Organization: Mozilla

Name: RAKHI SHARMA

Do you meet the eligibility requirements outlined at https://wiki.gnome.org/Outreachy#Eligibility (if no, explain why not)?

YES! I meet the eligibility requirement.

Preferred pronoun (e.g. she, he, they): she
E-mail address: atb.rakhi@gmail.com
IRC nick: rakhisharma

Internet presence (e.g. web page, blog, portfolio, GitHub, Twitter, LinkedIn links):

Blog: https://rakhish.wordpress.com/

Portfolio: http://rakhisharma.github.io/

Github:http://github.com/rakhisharma

Twitter: http://twitter.com/atbrakhi

LinkedIn:https://in.linkedin.com/in/atbrakhi
Location (city, state/province, and country):

City: Jaipur
State: Rajasthan

Country: India
Education completed or in progress (include university, major/concentration, degree level, and graduation year):

University: Rajasthan Technical University.

Major: Computer Science Engineering

Degree level: Bachelors in Technology

Graduation year: May 2017

How did you hear about this program?

I have been engaged into Open Source programs and love to work under open source projects. I first heard of outreachy from one of my senior ..

As Outreachy is a great platform for engaging women in the open source world and all the organisations participating in it are a great way to boost one’s confidence. I am very excited to participate in Outreachy.

Are you applying for Google Summer of Code and, if so, with what organization(s)?

No.
Please describe your experience with the organization’s product as a user and as a contributor (include the information, as well as a link or an attachment, for the required contribution you made to the project you are interested in here):

Personally, I have always been a FOSS enthusiast and I love Open Source Technologies. I am an active member of the Mozilla Community Rajasthan(India) & Firefox Club Open moz (R & D club of ACEIT Jaipur). As a member I have taken up organization of various workshops, such as the  Git, Open Source, How to contribute for mozilla and Womoz.

Apart from these I also participated in various  Open Source conferences, workshops and seminars. I also pay close attention to the happenings of the open source world.

I came across Firefox project through  wiki and then when I explored more about the project and it’s agenda, I got interested in working for it as improving the Firefox for desktops and developing new styles,This is going to be a very good project to be worked on according to my skills. In my initial contribution, I started working on the good first bugs and submitted two patch.

Firefox:

  1. Bug 891897 – Make the identity box text padding respect the UI text direction instead of its own text direction.

https://hg.mozilla.org/integration/mozilla-inbound/rev/0e90c6048f3f

  1. Bug 1212355 – [light devedition theme] No URLbar dropmarker visible on Linux.

https://hg.mozilla.org/integration/mozilla-inbound/rev/88427e76ab56

Please describe your experience with any other FOSS projects as a user and as a contributor:

I am a big FOSS lover, in 2014 my college senior(Representative in mozilla) introduced me to the new world of Computer Science – “Open Source”. As mozilla is the first open source organization I was introduce to, since than I was always looking forward to write open source code.

Mozilla:

I have been engaged in mozilla projects like fireplace (front end of marketplace) ,Firefox and MDN(Mozilla Developer Network). The most important aspect in working for a open source project is communication. And as a newbie I was very warmly welcomed in the organisation. It was a great feeling to solve some good first bugs for Firefox and working on another for fireplace and MDN. Its an unique experience to see that your code is being used in such a large project.

Some of my Contribution to Mozilla are:

Firefox:

  1. https://hg.mozilla.org/integration/mozilla-inbound/rev/0e90c6048f3f  .
  2. https://hg.mozilla.org/integration/mozilla-inbound/rev/88427e76ab56 .

Other contributions to Mozilla:

Marketplace:

  1. https://github.com/mozilla/fireplace/commit/5192fe227866c0b4cc896ad243d61c7de3135a70

Mozilla Developer Network(MDN):

  1. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/HTMLSelectElement/autofocus
  2. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/HTMLSelectElement/form
  3. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/HTMLSelectElement/disabled
  4. https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/docs/Web/API/HTMLSelectElement/labels

Linux Kernel:

I am an active contributor to Linux kernel also and have some patches accepted.It was really inspiring to see my patches submitted for Linux Kernel which is the basic layer of any operating system is used in Ethernet and wifi driver. So it was real exciting to see that the ethernet and wifi we use in our operating system have some small changes which I made.

Patches accepted  to Linux kernel:

  1. https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/gregkh/staging.git/commit/?h=staging-next&id=f7099ad7bd35c56795fb50f5026b7040abac62da
  2. https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/gregkh/staging.git/commit/?h=staging-next&id=a1fcca1e9afd5e2ec64be63574b548974b391d3c
  3. https://git.kernel.org/cgit/linux/kernel/git/gregkh/staging.git/commit/?h=staging-next&id=97e2ba90fc89f375e88ad5d825c149fb82d8207b

Please describe any relevant projects that you have worked on previously and what knowledge you gained from working on them (include links):

  1. Curly Maths-Learning (February 2016)

This is a game which aims to teach the basics of maths and computer science to middle school students.This is  under development.

Technology used: C graphics and openGL.

Link:  https://github.com/Rakhisharma/Curly-maths-Learning

2) Jubilant-Intersection (January 2016)

This is a prototype of a website which help user to book resort online. I develop this for a startup.

Technology used : Html, Css, Bootstrap

Link: https://github.com/Rakhisharma/Jubilant-Interaction

3)  Catastrophe Aid (August 2015)

I with the help of my teammate developed this  application during Topcoder hackathon. This application provide details about the disaster prone areas.

Technology used: Html, Css, Bootstrap, Reliefweb Api , Facebook Api.

Link: https://github.com/Rakhisharma/TopCoderHackathon

4)  Marks Analyzing system (March 2015)

I with the help of my professor developed this application,which analyze marks of student on the basis of their academics and interest.

Technology Used: Html, Css, Javascript, Jquery, Bootstrap.

Link: https://github.com/Rakhisharma/marksanalyzing

5) India Tour (November 2014)

This was my first application.I developed this for firefox OS. This Application helps users to stay updated with the tourism in India.

Technology used: Html, Css.

Link: https://github.com/Rakhisharma/India-tour
What project(s) are you interested in (these can be in the same or different organizations)?

I am interested in the Mozilla organisation’s projects “Make Firefox look great on desktop!” .

Who is a possible mentor for the project you are most interested in?

Project: Make Firefox look great on desktop!
Mentor: Gijs Kruitbosch
Please describe the details and the timeline of the work you plan to accomplish on the project you are most interested in (discuss these first with the mentor of the project):

                                                  Make Firefox look great on desktop!

Abstract :

Firefox is a web browser available for both desktop and mobile versions. Firefox use Gecko layout engine to render web pages, which implement current web standards. So I first started out working on the good-first-bugs. Goals for my project will be to solve the critical bugs already stated in the Bugzilla and working on the development of some style.

Motivation:

One of the things I would like to mention here in my motivation which made me involved in the organisation was the help and immediate response I got during the initial setup and to all my other queries.

Digging into the history of Firefox and its development. I would like to solve the issues according to their critical level. First of all I am interested on bugs labelled ‘Development’. Next, part which I will solve is related to the removal of the issues which are under Linux section. And other issues I will work upon during internship will be on the bugs under Window and OS X.

Goals:

The project consists of two categories one is development and another is fixing bugs. I will be  working on development first and then on fixing existing issues with existing features in Firefox.

Probably my mentor will be not available for 2 weeks between 27th of July and 10th of August. So,  I decide to work on development first.

There are two categories of bugs I am going to fix one is taking down good first bugs and other is  outside the good first bug range.This will be for firefox desktop in window, Linux and OS X.

Timeline:

Upto May 23(Working with small bugs):

I will continue working on some of the smaller bugs in the next few weeks until the beginning of the program in May. So that before program starts officially I have a richer knowledge of Firefox codebase. During this, I will be in regular interaction with mentors and grasp the most of concepts.

23rd May – 29th May (7 days)

  • I will start by Categorize bugs according to their difficulty level. There should be a section which contain only development  bugs. So that, I can start with development and should have clear idea about what I need to develop. For existing bugs of firefox, I will categorize them in three part which is: Bugs of Linux, Bugs of Window and Bugs of OS X as according to their difficulty level.
  • During this week I will be setting up the environment required for development of Bug 734326.
  • Discuss with mentor about these levels.

30th May – 12th June (14 days)

  • Bug 734326 – “Use Australis button styling for bookmarks toolbar items” Coding time! In this week I will be working on implementation of the above bug. I will start with this bug as it will be time taking and need lot work to do.

13th June – 26th June (14 days)

  • Creating better-looking buttons Bug 623822
  • Implementing improved styles for firefox as specified here in Bug 1091592

27th June –  12th July (15 days)

13th July – 28th July(15 days):

29th July – 14th August (15 days)

  • Once done with Linux and window both its time to fix bugs of Mac OS X. I will be fixing existing issues for OS X system with existing features in Firefox.
  • There are variety of bugs I will be working on. Like Fixing toolbar Separator as mentioned here in  Bug 876109.
  • Updating the appearance for the Mac menubar Bug 1066049.

15th August – 23rd August (pencils down)

  • Doing testing as whole. Encouraging other community people and users to use Firefox and to report bugs if any and getting their feedback in development part. Fixing the posted bugs. Filing new bugs.

After 23rd August (Continuation)

  • This is not the end, I will be continuously involved in the community and develop more features into Firefox.

Will you have any other time commitments, such as school work, exams, research, another job, planned vacation, etc., between May 23 and August 23, 2016? Please provide exact dates for these commitments and the number of hours a week these commitments take.

My college exam will be ended by second week of May. I will be completely free from May 15  to July 24th, because of summer vacations. I have no obligations or any internship offers. After July 24th, I will be able to commit 6 hours everyday from Monday to Friday and on weekend, I will be completely free and able to commit 10 hour on each weekend day.

If a student, please list the courses you will be taking between May 23 and August 23, 2016, how many credits you will be taking, and how many credits a full-time student normally takes at your school. Please provide a link or upload your school’s academic calendar.

From 15th May to July 24th I have my summer breaks. The courses I am taking between July 24th to 23rd August is Compiler design and VLSI design, Cloud computing.

This is the beginning of semester, I will be easily able to give 6 hours daily, and in weekend I will be completely free so will  able to give more than 10 hours on each weekend day.

Leave a Reply

